chemicals, Children

Chemicals and your kiddos

When I was pregnant with my now 4 year old, one thing I enjoyed was the preparation. I know, I am OCD like that. I loved stocking up the house to get ready for my little guy. Packages of diapers, and pretty bottles of shampoo, body wash, and lotion began to be stockpiled. They smelled amazing. I will admit I cracked one lotion open and slathered it on before he was even born.

It never dawned on me to look at the ingredients because I spent more money to purchased the big name baby brands. Expensive means better. Right? Well, sometimes. I had all of my baby bath items neatly organized in the shower to use on my little one every day. He smelled nice and “baby”. I often wondered where you get the smell of baby.

https://jerseydemic.com/johnson-johnson-finally-admits-our-baby-products-contain-cancer-causing-ingredients/

As I started get more natural, I downloaded a few apps and started learning about chemicals in our daily items – parabens, sulfates, synthetic dyes, SLS, synthetic fragrances – don’t worry, I will talk about those soon. I found out that some of my items were ranking 9 out of 10 on the carcinogenic scales. What? Here I was spending more money to give my baby the best, and in fact, I was giving him the worst. That changed, quickly.

I promptly returned the new items and gave a few of the opened ones away. I started to feel guilty about that and trashed the last few items. As a money saver and coupon lover, I was surprised that I wasn’t even upset about getting those out of my house. I found a few brands that we switched too that were sooo much better for my baby. Here is what I switched to:

Body wash/Shampoo – Raw Shea Chamomile & Argan Head-to-Toe shampoo and body wash. 95% of their line is a score of 1-5. Hint You want to stay 6 and under. We will talk scores soon! You can find it at most stores like Meijer or health food stores or Amazon -> https://www.amazon.com/Shea-Moisture-Butter-Chamomile-Shampoo/dp/B005C2NBAM/ref=sr_1_9_a_it?ie=UTF8&qid=1490282975&sr=8-9&keywords=shea+moisture+argan

Lotion – Young Living’s Lavender lotion and I also make a great DIY body butter. Want to try YL lotions – www.tinyurl.com/KellyMcCormackYL

Diaper rash cream – I used the same DIY body butter for that. Going healthy actually saved money because many of the products have dual use.

I started there and then I made a choice to start my chemical free journey. I made a list and did the thing most have a hard time doing…..just starting and moving. Want to know what was on my list? Check out my next blog!

Sending out my chemical free love! Yes, those are my baby’s little lips.

~Kelly M

IMG_3838

Leave a Reply

